Lent, Day 14: Contemplating a Gym

March 10, 2009 at 8:05 pm 1 comment

Facebook, as it turns out, is an amazing invention.  I’d gotten an account about …a year ago?  Probably more, actually.  Younger players from NarniaMUCK encouraged me to get one because they’d started a Facebook group called NarniaMUCKers Anonymous and they felt I needed to be there.  At the time, I regarded Facebook as ‘one of those kid things’, and so my attitude as I set up the account was concilliatory but not enthusiastic.  I certainly had enough to do online that I didn’t need one more thing.

Of course, then Facebook went all GenX and even Baby Boomer on us, and here we are.   Vast numbers of friends and acquaintances from high school and college have now turned up there, and between that and the various (and silly) ‘apps’ they have, I find myself drifting there more often than not.  In fact, nowadays, I’m devoting the time there I used to channel into NarniaMUCK, and I feel a little guilty about that. :/

But that was not where I was going with this.  Let me get back on track:

I ran into a college friend there recently who actually lives right by me.  I’ve known this for years, and we’ve contacted each other briefly since she moved here, but for one reason or another we just really haven’t taken the time to cultivate much of a friendship.   Mostly we were just caught up in our own stuff.

I did know that about two years ago she underwent Gastric Bypass surgery.  All the time I knew her she weighed between 250 and 300 pounds, and I guess toward the end there she was up around 350 with no real hope of losing what she wanted to lose.  Thus, she underwent the surgery and promptly lost her way down to about 160 or so.   The change in her was so dramatic that she and her surgeon were featured on The Today Show’s “Take It Off” segment.  I’m pretty sure I mentioned this once before, since the segment taught me that I was dangerously close to qualifying for GB without being there.  Scary and reassuring at the same time.

Around the time that I learned about the surgery, she also said she was looking into purchasing the Lady of America Fitness gym near my house.   There had been some kind of scandal connected with the gym that made the news; the previous owner kind of vanished and absconded with all of the membership fees or ..something.  I never did hear if she went through with it, though, until I saw the segment and she vaguely alluded to ‘her ladies at Lady of America’.

So anyway, we’ve been chatting online and talking on the phone for the past two days, and it’s actually been really nice to connect with her.   She actually offered to just let me come to the gym and work out for free, and promises she can help me work on my arms.  This is apparently what she does now, and it’s to the point where she’s getting certified as a physical trainer in this, that and the other.

I think we may trade off… a gym membership for a website or something.  Granted, it’s a ladies’ gym, so Andy couldn’t go.. but if Angie were there I’d have someone to go and see, which, as we noted early on, provides me with the social motivation that works for me.  I think it could be good.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , .

Lent, Day 13: Outdoor Walkin’ Lent, Day 15: Cold again!

1 Comment

  • 1. melalvai  |  March 12, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Can you talk her into providing childcare? Maybe you could be one of the babysitters, in exchange for gym hours.

    I’d like to know more about the certification stuff. I’ve heard that there isn’t any oversight of physical trainers so it’s hard to know which ones are legitimate. How do you know what certificates are reputable and real?


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

