Lent, Day 18: The Curse of Michelle

March 14, 2009 at 11:39 pm

You might recall awhile back when I was first contemplating the various roadblocks I felt would prevent me from achieving success in my efforts to lose weight.  I believe I was saying that eating is sort of psychological, and that even if pizza isn’t really my thing as a rule I’d still take it over a dismal iceberg-lettuce salad.   Just the idea that something is off-limits makes it that much more appealing.

At this point I think I’d still turn up my nose at an Iceberg-lettuce-salad, since I’ve become sort of a greens-snob and consider Iceberg to be kind of worthless as greens go.    But salads in general have risen in my esteem such that now I might actually choose one over pizza.  There are other, equally unhealthy things, though, that would still rate higher.  Onion rings.  Good, old-fashioned buttered toast.  Chex Mix.

Michelle’s response at the time warned me that what would probably end up making a difference in that area is the realization that eating the junky stuff actually makes one feel gross later.  At the time, I sort of dismissed this, since as far as I could tell back then what I ate didn’t much impact how I felt, either right after or long-term.   Scoff, scoff, said Jen.  ‘Tis to laugh.

Well, suffice it to say: I’m not scoffing anymore.

We had the kids’ piano recital to attend this morning (which was a really nice recital, actually; kudos to Kathy for splitting the event so that the little kids performed separately from the older ones).   By the time we got out it was getting on to noon and Andy had to be at church to elder for a wedding.   Thus, if Lunch was to be had, it was going to need to be obtained on the road.  Ergo: Burger King.

Given the social calendar for this weekend, I had originally resolved to eat light during the day and just eat in the evenings.  However, I really am a little concerned that I’m not eating ENOUGH right now, so I decided to go ahead and eat today after all.   My appetite has come back some over the last few days, but I’m still not 100% there.  I don’t know that the answer is a full-scale pig-out at Burger King, but at the very least I felt I ought to give my body more to work with than the (ha ha!) iceberg lettuce salad without meat that represented pretty much my only meat-free ‘meal’ option there.

Speaking of which, Burger King brags that it offers a Veggie Burger, but I didn’t see it on any menu.  What’s up with that?  But anyway…

On an impulse, I indulged in a medium order of onion rings.   I’m pretty sure this is the first time since November that I’ve indulged in something like that, so it was a decision that threatened to shake the foundation of everything we’re doing here.  Would I, at the first taste of greasy, deep-fried, fast-food goodness, throw off my current shackles and dive headlong into hedonistic gluttony?  Or would I find I have finally achieved some measure of self-control, stoically restricting my indulgence to a chaste nibble?

Actually, neither happened.  I just ate my onion rings.   Tasty, but nothing earth-shattering.  I also ate my salad, but I was good and only used a minimal amount of dressing.  Burger King bills its Italian dressing as ‘Lite’, but when you look at the nutrition information you can see it’s anything but.  The fact that they don’t offer a ‘Non-Lite’ Italian Dressing alternative is probably telling.  It’s always in the spin.

At any rate, so lunch was done, we came home, Andy went off to do his thing and the kids and I knocked around the house for the rest of the day until it was time to go to the 5:00 service at church and attend Isaac’s baptism.   It was at the baptism party, around 6:00, that it started to hit me… this sort of rolling, uncomfortable sensation in my stomach.  Bleh.   This went on for the entire party, and though Mom came through with some medication for me, it still made the evening less than enjoyable.

So Michelle wins.   You feel like what you eat, so if you eat crap, you feel like crap.   I wonder now if I was just used to it before, or whether I just felt like that so much of the time I didn’t really notice.   I guess it doesn’t matter that much, but it’s interesting.

Oh, by the way, I know this has nothing whatsoever to do with anything here, but I need to crow about it somewhere:  WE WON at Trivia Night last night.  And it was a SATISFYING win, too.  Our team went in with only six players (standard table was 8) and we didn’t purchase any Mulligans at all.   It was a three-horse race for awhile, then one round dropped it to a fight between us and the table next to us.  We trailed them by two points right up until the last round.  Then the last round was announced, “That St. Louis Question” (referring to the fact that St. Louisans always ask each other what high school they attended), and the mandate was to name the mascots of key high schools in the city.  We just HAPPENED to have Jim Iverson at our table, and he’s coached baseball for McCluer for time out of mind.  We nailed every single one, and the other table only got six.  It was a very satisfying win. 🙂

Oh!  And I DID walk tonight.  Go me. 🙂  I got in about 120 minutes, though I’d hoped to get in more because I missed yesterday, but that’s okay.  At least I got it in.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , .

Lent, Day 17: Trivia Night Lent, Day 19: No Doughnuts For Jen


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

