Lent, Day 24: Virgins Wanted

March 21, 2009 at 12:34 pm 2 comments

We’re at the lake and settled now, and I find myself amusingly reminded of something that happened last Monday that I wanted to write about.

When I went to WeightWatchersOnline.com to put my new weight in, the ‘Weight Loss Tip of the Day’ that appeared on WeightWatchersOnline last Monday was entitled “Virgins Wanted”.  Full credit goes to whoever thought that one up, because up until that point I had never even noticed the Tip of the Day, much less clicked on it.  Curious to see whether Weight Watchers was either putting in an Abstinence program or just advocating some fun, new approaches to exercise or what, I absolutely clicked.

Of course, it was revealed that the ‘virgins’ in question are actually virgin alcoholic beverages, which apparently tend to contain fewer calories.  The tip said something like, ‘Make yourself the hero of the night by electing to be the Designated Driver!’  Not quite as much fun as the title suggested initially.  Like, at all.

I’m reminded of this now because one of the unspoken traditions of Visiting the Lake is that drinking alcoholic beverages is somehow more acceptable here than it is at home.  Andy is only barely this side of teetotalling most of the time.  He claims this is due to family reasons, but yet he doesn’t mind indulging in a margarita now and then, so it sort of confuses me.  For my part, I’m much less bothered by the idea on principle, but I’m such a lightweight that I’ve never had occasion to develop a taste for alcohol that would make me want to drink it all the time or anything.  Even in college, I’d be buzzing by my second wine cooler, and under the table by #3. These days I’ll have a glass of wine if it’s offered to me, will drink ‘socially’ at a gathering, but it’s just not something I think to do on my own.

But at the Lake, it’s different.  Why this is, I’m not sure.  I mean, even here it’s done in moderation, but still. Tonight so far I’ve had a Fuzzy Navel and a glass of red wine. I’ll be stopping there, because already I’m feeling sleepy.

The fact that I don’t drink a lot of alcohol was one of those things that represented sort of a Win for me with Weight Watchers.  Apparently it’s a serious points-eater for some people, and I always thought, “Well, at least I don’t have to worry about THAT.”.  I am a little curious now, though, given the recent attention to Resveratrol, as to whether or not I should cultivate a taste for red wines.  Currently they’re just not my favorite thing; I prefer the sweeter, fruitier white wines and blushes.  I’m not sure Resveratrol is justification to become a lush or anything, but the sense that I’ve cultured myself enough to appreciate wines that don’t taste like grape juice is sort of appealing too.

Granted, they’re saying the Resveratrol in red wine can also be found in lesser amounts in Grape Juice, so perhaps there’s still no excuse to drink red wine. 😉  This cabernet we got is not too bad, though.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , .

Lent, Day 23: Travellin’ Lent, Day 25: Hikin’

2 Comments

  • 1. Michelle  |  March 29, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Lisa and I have decided we haven’t drunk enough lately, so we’re going to celebrate cinco de mayo. Let me know if you want to join us. 🙂

  • 2. Jennifer  |  March 30, 2009 at 6:40 am

    How far we’ve come since college. We’re making plans to get drunk more than a month out. 😉 Seems like that was a decision we used to make moments before heading off to a party or a bar.

    But yeah, I’d like that. A lot. Let me know what the plan is and I’ll work things out here.


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

