Lent, Day 25: Hikin’

March 22, 2009 at 12:39 pm 3 comments

So I did my first hike this morning.  By the time we got settled last night it was really just too late and getting too chilly, so I went out first thing this morning.  It was nice.

Really nice.

I can’t say much for the scenery, which is sad because I figured hiking through the woods would win out over walking the subdivision because I’d be walking through would actually interest me.  It wasn’t that the scenery wasn’t interesting, though, but rather that it was depressing.  It’s still too early in the Spring for any green to be seen anywhere (well, except for lichens..), and the fact that there are no leaves means that all of the ugliness to be found here is right there and visible.  Our development out here is mostly populated by hunters, so there are a ton of moldering campsites and carelessly discarded beer bottles and cans everywhere.  One has far less the sense of losing oneself in nature than the sense of watching nature limp along around the careless treatment of mankind.  Bleh.

But the weather was beautiful, the sky is bright, and I got to see things.  Squirrels, a hawk, a sassafras tree starting to bud out.  I sat down at one point and harassed a land snail for awhile.  These aren’t things I couldn’t see at home, I guess, but I was more up-close-and-personal here than at home, and that was nice.  I think a little later I’ll take the canoe out and see what I can see there too.   At least out on the lake, I’m not as likely to be confronted with rusting discards and trash. :/

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , .

Lent, Day 24: Virgins Wanted Weight Check, Week 3.5

3 Comments

  • 1. Amanda  |  March 24, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    That breaks my heart. 😦 Sorry to hear the woods are people’s dumping ground. Enjoy the canoe ride!

  • 2. melalvai  |  March 24, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    I’ve been on the Katy a couple times recently, and one thing I was struck by was how different it was with no leaves. It was a different kind of beauty. I could see the shapes of the bluffs and the colors of the rock (blue).

  • 3. Jennifer  |  March 24, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Yeah… Winter comes off so drab because everything is in gray and brown.. But I guess when you think about it, everything at other times of the year are green and…green. 😉 So it’s just different, not necessarily worse.


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

