Lent, Day 28: The Good, The Bad, the Ugly…

March 25, 2009 at 9:55 pm 2 comments

Actually, today was more good than bad or ugly, but right now I REALLY don’t feel like walking.  I’m not even sure why, to tell you the truth.  I got the kids to bed early and I came down to walk by 8:30, which is really early for me.   I don’t know why that would make much of a difference, honestly, but I find myself glancing at the timer a lot more tonight than I have recently.

My appetite is also coming back, which qualifies as both good and bad, I guess.   This is good because it means I’m relaxing some, but it’s made the Down Day today more difficult than Down Days have been lately.   At this point I’ve completely stopped journalling or counting points or anything, because it’s been largely worthless to bother.  Even on Up Days I’ve not had that much of an interest in food, so if I wanted to eat something, by golly I’ve let myself eat it.  Better than going into metabolic crash mode, right?

But at the same time, I’m becoming aware that I’m getting sloppy about things.  I’m not walking the full 12o minutes like I used to, averaging instead around 100.  Not a HUGE difference, but still; I’ve been known to walk 180 minutes straight and not really mind before, and tonight I was getting impatient with it by 30 minutes in.   Some of this may come down to a need to slow down my walking speed, though.  Seems like I went through something similar awhile back, and just dropping from 2.5 back to 2.0 was enough to get me back on track.  I may have to try that tomorrow.

I think I need to get back to setting up a meal plan for the household again, and maybe even journal again. Not that I’m worried, but just because it’s a good idea.

I did visit Angie at the gym today.  She demonstrated one of their pilates machines, which was interesting.  I think I’m going to start making it a priority to go at least once or twice a week if I can.  If nothing else, it’ll be good for me to get out of the house.  I know I have a pretty full schedule already, so how I’ll work this in I’m not sure.  It’ll come down to discipline and order, two things in which I do not tend to excel, sadly.

But I can do anything for 21 days, right? 😉  Right.

Oh, I need something ugly.  Okay, my arms. And my tummy.   Very ugly.  Hoping to fix the former, not so much hope for the latter (though Michelle assures me it will get better; I just need to be patient.)  There.  Subject justified.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Lent, Day 27: Spa in Sight… Lent, Day 29: Salad Bar Fail

2 Comments

  • 1. Jackie  |  March 28, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    I’ve often marveled at how you manage to get in the amount of walking that you do. I have half the number of kids underfoot that you do and I don’t seem to have time to do more than breathe most days. About the only walking I get in is up and down the street following the 2 year old on his various riding toys. (I can still count that right? *wink*)
    I’ll be interested to see how the gym thing works out for you. I’ve always had pathetic upper body strength. I took weight training at SMS and could barely lift the bar when I started! I’ve had numerous gym memberships over the years, but never managed to stick to anything. In theory, I’d love one right now, just for the excuse to get out of the house without the kiddos! 😉

  • 2. Jennifer  |  March 30, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Well, like I’ve said, it comes down to this crazy table thing. Being able to work/Facebook/oversee the kids’ schooling/etc. while walking makes a big difference.

    That said, I also do most of my walking at night, between 8 pm and midnight, depending on how late I get started. By that time Andy is handling bedtime, which also helps.


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

