Lent, Day 33: Andy and Odwalla

March 30, 2009 at 7:10 am 10 comments

Short entry today, because I’m short on time.  I just wanted to mention two things.

1.  Andy is finding he’s having a lot of success with ADF too.  This is significant, because Andy was one of the typical skeptics that declared he could never do this, and because Andy is a very fussy person when it comes to food.  When he announced that he was planning to do this as his Lenten observation, I had serious doubts as to whether or not he’d last just because he has an almost fanatic objection to eating vegetables. For me, switching to a better diet wasn’t too bad because I actually like a lot of healthy things.  Andy, however, is strictly a meat-and-potatoes man, so I wasn’t sure if he could last.

But he’s doing it, and doing well.  I think at this point he’s down at least ten pounds, and you can already see a difference.  His face is looking thinner, and he says he’s fitting into pairs of paints that haven’t fit in a long time.  Congrats, Andy!

2) While in Sullivan, I persuaded Andy to let me pick up a quart of Odwalla Vanilla Al’Mondo Super Protein drink.  

Odwalla Super Protein -- Vanilla AlMondo Protein

Odwalla Super Protein -- Vanilla Al'Mondo Protein

I’ve seen Odwalla before, but not this particular variant.  For every 8-0z serving, it provides 20% of your daily protein, 35% of your daily calcium, 100% of B-6 and B-12.  3 grams of fiber, 6 grams of fat and 190 calories.  

Not too shabby.  If you’re going to blow three points on 8-ounces of something, I guess this is the way to go.  Even better: it doesn’t taste half bad.  I’m perfectly happy to restrict myself to one 8-ounce serving in a day, granted, but the experience isn’t distasteful.

I’ve been trying to convince myself to give soy milk a fairer shake than I have.   I have a couple of friends who are seriously anti-dairy, and while this wouldn’t normally move me of its own accord, I can understand why.   I just have the sense that soy milk and rice milk taste terrible, and since I’m not a huge milk drinker anyway, I don’t view it as an immediate concern.  But maybe I should; my kids are drinking milk every day.

I could so easily downshift into health nut mode.  Yeesh.  If I just didn’t miss meat so much and could live without cheese or real butter, I could even go vegetarian.  But no. 😉  Not anytime soon, anyway.  I cannot wait for Sunday.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Weight Check, Week 4.5 Lent, Day 34: How I Do It

10 Comments

  • 1. Christine  |  March 31, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Hey, you guys are doing great! And going to a healthier diet doesn’t have to happen overnight. I have gradually eliminated mostl HFCS from our diets and that is hard…it is amazing what they put that in…even BREAD. And now I’ve noticed that I shop the perimeter of the store, instead of all of the prepared foods in the middle. There are great resources out there for quick easy home cooked meals. I don’t buy chicken nuggets now…a few weeks ago I made some of my own and they really didn’t take that long and the kids LOVED them!!!! Let me know if you’d like some recipes or resources!

  • 2. Jennifer  |  March 31, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Yeah.. HCFS has taken quite a bad rap lately, but sugar in general is just ’empty calories’ and worth keeping to a moderate level. Most processed foods are just full of stuff you shouldn’t eat in excess. :/ A lot of salt (yum!), sugars, fats and obscure chemical preservatives.

    But yeah, shopping the perimeter seems to have become the new health-food/weight-loss buzzword. I’m getting much better about spending food money on the outskirts rather than in the Hamburger Helper aisle. 😉

    You should check out ‘Eat This Not That’, Christine. It is REALLY helpful, especially with respect to kid-foods. I have the one I mentioned earlier in this blog — the one for adults — but I’ve thumbed through the kids one and I want it. It’s great for sorting out which brands of things kids like — like chicken nuggets, if you haven’t time to make them from scratch for some reason — are healthier than others.

  • 3. dutchman  |  March 31, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    Thanks, honey. I appreciate the kind words.

  • 4. Pangie  |  April 2, 2009 at 10:53 am

    But, see, soy milk and rice milk DO taste terrible.

    Give almond milk a shot, though. 🙂

  • 5. Michelle  |  April 3, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    The jury is still out on the effects of the estrogens in soy, I hear more and more that you should limit soy until we learn more about the long-term hormonal effects.

  • 6. melalvai  |  April 4, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I’m leery of artificially concentrated “natural” chemicals, such as isoflavone-enriched soy milk, or isoflavone supplements. What I keep hearing in the research community is “in moderation”. Edamame, tofu, even soy milk, great, in moderation.

  • 7. Pangie  |  April 4, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    But edamame and tofu (when prepared properly) taste great. But soy milk doesn’t. I promise. 😉 *sighs* I miss edamame and tofu.

    To Michelle: I’ve been told to avoid soy due to endometriosis. (And, you know, I’m allergic…) Sounds like the endo people don’t trust it either.

    And on moderation, all I have to say is: *ALL* things in moderation? Isn’t that a bit much?

  • 8. melalvai  |  April 5, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Moderation in all things. Even in moderation.
    Can you be excessively moderate?

  • 9. Jennifer  |  April 5, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Only if your name is Joe Lieberman. 😉

  • 10. Jennifer  |  April 5, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Well, the Odwalla wasn’t half bad, actually. Though admittedly it’s all hopped up on Vanilla and Almond flavors, presumably.


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

