Lent, Day 37: Wildlife Walkin’

April 4, 2009 at 6:47 pm 2 comments

Well, if I have been at all lax about walking this week (and admittedly, I did skip one day), I made up for it today.  The kids had a series of activities today, including a Wetlands For Kids fair at Busch Wildlife.  Andy was busy with a golf tournament all day, so I had to handle it by myself with all four kids.  It actually went really well, though sadly Zack and Noah missed out on Archery because the line was too long.

The only downside (which, depending on how you look at it, could be sort of an upside) was the fact that parking was an absolute nightmare.  In the end, we had to park WAY up one of the side roads and walk a long ways to get to where we needed to be.  That plus the walking around AT the fair was a good amount of exercise for both me and the kids.

And I still walked 2 hours tonight besides, so go me! 🙂

The Wetlands for Kids fair was a lot of fun, though.  The kids ran around Busch Wildlife, learning about ducks and beavers and all manners of amphibians and lizards.  They studied slop they pulled from the bottom of a lake, they touched mink and otter fur, they crawled through a beaver dam and made some cute crafts and, on the whole, had a great time.  By the time we left, Luke was so exhausted that he was asleep before we even got out of the parking lot.

There was a nice benefit for me, too.  While we were there, I discovered that the Department of Conservation has a branch of its Discovery Nature program geared specifically for women.   Apparently a week from Saturday, they’re holding an all-day Outdoor Skills program in Imperial in which they’ll teach women to archery, trapping and rifle shooting.  Interesting…

Really, of those three the only one that interests me to any great degree is archery, but I’d be curious to learn about the others too, just as an academic exercise.  Since my dream in life is to get away from the suburbs and settle somewhere remote, knowing my way around a rifle might not be the worst thing to learn.

But more to the point, it would get me out of the house and interacting with other women who share my interests — or at least one of them, anyway.  The only problem is that I think we have plans that day. :/  Imperial isn’t terribly far, but it’s probably at least a 50 minute drive from St. Charles.  That’ll make trying to accommodate other plans that day a little difficult.

But we’ll see.  I’m realizing that Busch Wildlife has a lot of programs to offer that I’ve been rather stupidly ignoring.  They have so many programs for the kids, for homeschooling families, etc.  It’s hard to sort through them all, but I know the kids would love to do more, and getting out into nature is never a bad thing in my book.  Luke is finally getting to the point where he can be manageable for a few hours on an outing like this, obviously, which makes the idea of going with the kids a lot easier to picture.

I played it light today until dinner.  Then I ate too much.  The onion rings did get me, as predicted, but it was still worth it.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian, Weight Check. Tags: , , , .

Lent, Day 36: Girls’ Night Out Lent, Day 38: Jeans, Revisited

2 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  April 7, 2009 at 11:33 am

    When I did the Million Steps program, they had some tips about how to get more steps in your day: Use a bathroom that is further away, preferably on another floor. Park in the far corner of the lot.

    I just read a book about traffic, which was fascinating. One thing he mentioned is that 30% or more of traffic is generated by parking. Cities with traffic problems find that removing parking is a very effective way to reduce congestion. There’s also a tendency to build parking for the biggest use: walmart parking lots are designed for Christmas Eve. Church parking lots are designed for Easter Sunday. That means for 364 days a year, those parking lots are largely empty.

    Now, personally, I object to events that don’t plan for parking. It wastes my time looking for a place to park and “the side of the road 1.5 miles away” isn’t an ideal place no matter how many steps you want to get in. (I’d be ok with a grass field 1.5 miles away…)

    My objection to inadequate parking is much stronger when I’m toting small children! I hope you had a stroller.

  • 2. Jackie  |  April 9, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    The Wetlands fair sounds like a great event! I would have loved to go with the kiddos! I know exactly what you mean about the youngest finally getting old enough to make going to something like that possible again. We went to the zoo a couple of weeks ago and I thought to myself, “Ah, this is soooo much easier than it was a year — or even 6 months ago!”

    You can move to Arkansas with us. T’res and I have a pact that if I move, she will move — want to join us? Very rural, but still close to a great bread/sandwich/soup place– “Neighbor’s Mill” and only 30-45 minutes from Branson (outlet malls and silver dollar city).


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

