Lent, Day 38: Jeans, Revisited

April 5, 2009 at 6:46 pm 2 comments

Technically, you know, Lent is over now.  As of today we switch to Holy Week, as today is Palm Sunday.  But the idea is to stay ‘fasting’ until Easter, so I have one more week until I can eat meat again.  Almost there.

Today’s topic is jeans.

Specifically, the jeans I’m wearing, which happen to be size 14.   They’re a pair of Nautica jeans that Kate passed on to me from a friend of hers, and there’s nothing notable about them beyond that, except that they are adorning my lower body and surprisingly not too uncomfortable.  They fit about as well right now as the size 16 jeans I bought were the day I bought them.

Except, for couse, that I could fasten them without lying down to do it.  The size 16s back then required lying down. (They don’t NOW, obviously.)  Being able to remain vertical and still fasten the fly of a size 14 pair of jeans is pretty amazing.

That said, wearing jeans with a snug waist does make one acutely aware of how one’s body weight shifts during the day.  When I put them on, they were fairly comfortable.  By this time of the evening, they’re getting uncomfortable.  I noticed the same thing back when I was wearing the 16s for the first time, that they seemed to fit well in the morning and feel snug in the evening, even on Down Days when I couldn’t really blame food for the added snugness.  Interesting.

Anyway, I doubt I’ll be wearing 14s regularly for a couple of weeks yet, but it’s still nice to be able to say, “I was fitting in a size 14 by early April.”

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Lent, Day 37: Wildlife Walkin’ Lent, Day 39: Underwires..

2 Comments

  • 1. Jackie  |  April 9, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Woo hoo! Gotta love fitting into those lower numbers!

  • 2. melalvai  |  April 11, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    So by my calculations you should be really freakin’ close to the magic 180 and your spa package! Tell us all about it!


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

