Lent, Day 43: Maundy Thursday

April 9, 2009 at 6:00 am 1 comment

I guess technically I broke my Vegetarian fast for Lent tonight, but this was sort of a planned thing.  Zion partnered with Apple of His Eye ministries to put on a Seder Meal for the church, which obviously involved eating lamb as part of the ritual.   I went in planning that I would participate, since the whole point of going vegetarian was as a form of religious observance, and that was also the point of tonight’s meal.

Apple of His Eye Ministries is a mission outreach to the Jewish community.   The service tonight was almost two hours long, which made it a tough go for the kids, but it was really interesting.  They took us through the entire Seder meal, discussing at length the reason for celebrating Passover, the various rituals involved, the Seder Plate, the components of the Seder and their significance, the afikomen, etc.   It was interesting.

This was also the first time in forever that I’ve ever eaten Lamb.  In fact, I’m pretty sure the ONLY other time I’ve ever had lamb was the last time Zion did this and I attended, which was probably back when I was 15 or 16.   It was a pretty nice meal all told, and happily I don’t think it counted as a ‘failure’, since this was a special case and in keeping with the theme of the time.

It occurs to me, though, that I need to start thinking about what to do when Easter is over, since it’s practically right on top of us now.  I’ve toyed with the idea of going back and actually doing the ‘Sleep’ one right, but I also need to get myself back on track with food journalling too, after Monday.  Hmm.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , .

Lent, Day 42: Narrow Garage Lent, Day 44: Good Friday

1 Comment

  • 1. Amanda  |  April 13, 2009 at 8:54 am

    That sounds fascinating! I would have gobbled that up as a kid. Both literally and figuratively. Lamb happens to be my favorite red meat (which makes me feel a little guilty becuase they also happen to be my favorite creatures as well). I also would have loved to learn more about the whole tradition. 🙂

    Did you like the lamb? I have a good recipe for lamb meatballs with feta cheese and such if that interests you. In fact, I think your “twin” gave it to me? I don’t remember where I got it, but it’s good.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

