Lent, Day 45: One Day Left…

April 11, 2009 at 7:06 am 2 comments

Wow, I can’t wait until tomorrow!  I feel kind of silly about being THAT excited about the end of Lent, but still…   I think this is the first time I have ever ‘given up’ anything for Lent that had an actual impact on my daily-life the way this turned out to have, so I guess at the very least I feel I’ve done the thing right.   When I was younger it was always giving up things like ‘candy’ or ‘soda’, which in my case isn’t that much of a sacrifice.   I still boggle that I didn’t think giving up meat would be all that much of a sacrifice either; I was wrong about that.

I have discovered my other pitfall when it comes to buying clothes.   Well.. when it comes to buying DRESSY clothes, anyway.  I am just not a dressy girl.    It’s not that I can’t appreciate a pretty dress when I see one, or even enjoy wearing one if I’m reasonably sure it would look nice on me..  But the fact that I’ve never especially enjoyed dressing up just for the sake of doing it has left me woefully behind in terms of fashion, and I find the SHOPPING part overwhelming.

Life is just so much easier in jeans and sweatshirts, you know?

Tonight it was the Easter Dress thing.  I had carefully budgeted and then shopped for Easter clothes for the kids, but I completely forgot to consider clothes for ME.  I was still thinking in terms of the old paradigm, picturing myself wearing the flowered skirt and teal sweater I wore two or three years ago, because they’re both bright, Eastery colors and I haven’t worn them in a few years.   This logic failed to take into account, though, that the skirt in question falls right off of me now.  Not so good.

So I took a moment to browse at Kohl’s when we were there, and found quickly that absolutely nothing I saw on the racks appealed to me.   Either the colors were too garish or the garments themselves appeared to be too complicated for me to comprehend without trying them on.  We were passing through at the time with all four kids in tow, so it wasn’t a good time to be seeking out a fitting room…  But I found the experience overwhelming.  I needed Lisa and Michelle. 😉

In the end, I went to Target tonight and shopped there.   They had a number of dresses, and I did try them on..but none of them fit very well.   Well, that’s not entirely true; they FIT fine.  They just didn’t LOOK GOOD.  One of them was a purple dress with a kind of cowl neck and a ropey sash.  When I put it on, I looked like a druidess.

You’d sort of think that kind of thing would appeal to me, but it was just too weird.   Plus, the skirt was too long and pooled around my feet, so it was out anyway.

Nothing else I tried on appealed either.  In the end, I opted for a coral pink shell top, a white sweater to wear over it, and a pair of brown slacks.   They were all fairly utilitarian items that I could get a lot of wear out of even outside of church, so it seemed at least to be a PRUDENT choice.  But still.  I need to figure this fashion stuff out.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , .

Lent, Day 44: Good Friday EASTER!

2 Comments

  • 1. Jackie  |  April 13, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I know what you mean there! I always feel like I’m just at an awkward shopping age. Either the clothes are too young or too old. We’re somewhere between the shirts and pants that leave your belly button showing and full blown polyester!

  • 2. Jennifer  |  April 13, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Well, the sad thing is… the ‘in thing’ right now appears to BE full-blown polyester. I feel like a fashion island in the midst of a storm of terrible taste.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

