Sleep, Day 1: Back to the 21-Day Thing

April 13, 2009 at 7:48 am

Okay, so… it’s Monday and I’m back to the usual grind.  It’s a Down Day for me and an Up Day for Andy, so we’ll be serving Spaghetti tonight. 😉

I know I didn’t really talk much about what I wanted to do for this 21-day run, but as the subject indicates I’m going to give Sleep another whirl.   The first time around I botched it pretty badly, but I have a good idea as to why and … well, suffice it to say, it just wasn’t the right time for it.  Now I think I have a better shot at succeeding, and given all the attention recently paid to the benefits of sleep in terms of weight loss, it seems a prudent way to go.  My sleep habits are somewhat abysmal.

The goal here will be to get to bed by 11:30 p.m. every night for the 21 days.   Meanwhile I’ll obviously continue with ADF as I have been, and continue to walk every day.  I’ve been shooting for 2 hours with the walking, so I’ll need to be good about getting on the treadmill by 9:00 pm at the latest.  I think THAT will be my biggest challenge, but I’ve been really good about that lately and I think I can manage it.  Really, come to think of it, it’s never really been all THAT common that I wouldn’t start walking until later than that anyway.

I also plan to journal more.  I meant to start that last week, after the disappointing weigh-in, but the Holy Week stuff dominated my attention and I didn’t do as well on that as I’d like.  Now I’m more determined to get my schedule back under control and feel like I’m getting doing the thing right, so I’ll just hold myself to the usual rules:  on Up Days I won’t restrict myself, but I WILL make a note of whatever I eat.  That usually does a nice job in and of itself of reminding me to be a little careful.

Obviously, I can’t mark successes until the following day with this, so I guess I can’t say whether it’s been a success so far or not. 😉

Entry filed under: Sleep. Tags: , , , , , , .

Weight Check, End-of-Lent Sleep, Day 2: So far, So good..


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

