Cleaning, Day 13: Shaken, not Stirred

May 2, 2009 at 5:49 pm

I am glad, now, that my goal for this 21-day run has been a fairly easy one.   If not, I don’t think I’d have a shot at succeeding. :/

One upshot, though: I have zero desire to eat.  Today is an Up Day, and I think the sum total of my food intake so far today has been a dollop of strawberry jam I got on my finger while making lunch for the kids, a hot dog and a handful of chips.   Not my healthiest day, but seriously… by the end of the day I was just so glad I had any appetite for anything, I’d have eaten shoe leather if it had appealed to me at all.

A lot of this is just stress and anxiety.  I’ve been behind on the kids’ schoolwork and wasn’t sure how I’d get them caught up in time, and that coupled with the upset of yesterday just pushed me right into that emotional shutdown that kills my appetite, I guess.  Fortunately, we spent today really working with the kids on school and getting a lot of their assignments done, and it had the desired effect.  By the end of the day I felt good enough about what we’d accomplished that my appetite returned and the hot dog and chips actually sounded kind of good to me.

Just goes to show, again, how our minds override our matter.  I’ll be fine; I don’t mean to worry anyone.  It’s just been a tough couple of days here.  Tomorrow we’re taking the kids to Six Flags to celebrate our success with the schoolwork today, so that should hopefully get me back into a healthier mindframe.

And I did get the bed made today.  The kitchen is okay.

Entry filed under: Cleaning, Successes.

Cleaning, Day 12: Derailed… Cleaning, Day 14: Six Flags


Recent Posts

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

