Money, Day 10: Down to the Wire

October 28, 2009 at 7:50 am 1 comment

Okay.. I just checked the account.  With about ten days left to the pay period, we are down to a working total of $37.   Granted, that is not including the $67 that is currently snuggled up in our Savings account, but for the sake of, you know, not being ridiculous about this, I’m going to pretend that money isn’t there.  So.  $37… to last a family of six for ten days.

And I plan to have two other families over for Chili on Saturday.  I’m good. >_<

Now, as crisis-worthy as that sounds, the truth is that I’m not really worried.  The bills are all paid, and the larders are all stocked.  There are a couple of small things I could stand to get, but I think I can actually bring us in under $37 if I’m just really careful.   $15 of that needs to go Trunk or Treat on Friday, so I need to keep THAT in mind, but the things I think I might need before next week include things like:

  • 1 16-slice pack of cheese
  • 2 gallons of milk
  • 2 boxes of cornbread mix
  • 1 bag of corn chips
  • 1 bag of pretzels
  • 1 bag of apples

All of that can probably be bought for around $10.  I think I have $10 in cash here, so that’s not an issue, and I guess I can scrounge around for change and see where that gets me, too.   My only real concern is Friday night, since we’ll be going to Main Street to trick-or-treat from 3-5, and then need to be at church by 6:00 for Trunk or Treat.  That doesn’t leave much time to throw together a home-cooked meal, so I’d planned to go out.   I don’t know where I can go to get the family fed for less than $22, although I understand Sonic is having some kind of special that night.  50-cent Corn Dogs.  That might be worth going for.  Not the healthiest meal in the world, granted, but it’s better than letting the kids dine on nothing but their candy all night.

No more NSF fees for me, though.  That IS a nice feeling, knowing where we stand and what we can and can’t do.  There’s been a comedy clip circulating on the Internet of Louis CK on Conan O’Brien entitled “Everything’s Amazing, and No One’s Happy.”  In it, Louis points out the way things used to be, notably that at the end of the month, when you ran out of money, you said, “Well, I guess I can’t do any more stuff now.”   I find myself looking at my balance and thimking, “Well, I guess I can’t do any more stuff now.” and feeling kind of amused by that.  In a way, it’s almost sort of FREEING.

It’s funny, too… I felt that way about not eating on my Down Days after awhile too.  It was nice to not worry about what I was going to eat, because I already knew! 😉   I guess there’s Freed0m To and Freedom From, right?

Entry filed under: Money, Successes. Tags: , , , , .

Money, Day 9: Luke’s Birthday Money, Day 11: Small Windfalls

1 Comment

  • 1. Melalvai  |  October 30, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I know what you mean. There’s something really satisfying about denying yourself something because you’re being good. It’s different than not getting something because you can’t. It’s a choice and you are in control and you are choosing something positive: not to increase debt.

    I’m really glad you guys are doing your 21’s again. I love reading your stories & struggles & successes. It makes me value my own successes more, and know that my own struggles aren’t unique.


Recent Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

