ADF Hardcore, Day 5: Fussy Tummy

June 25, 2010 at 6:15 am 3 comments

Days like this make me glad I handle my fasting days the way I do.  Today is the last fasting day of the week before the wonderful two days of eating that comprise the weekend.

However, I’m now remembering why it is that Up Days the first time around were not just a free-for-all after awhile.  On one hand, I felt a certain responsibility to eat decent things on Up Days just because whatever I ate that day was the only nutrition I was getting… but that created another reason not to eat junk food: my body started to get a little fussy.

Or rather, I actually NOTICED that my body was sort of fussy.   Up until that point, as I recall, I was sort of used to certain discomforts and the overall feeling of blah, and considered such things to be ‘normal’.  When I started eating a healthier diet, I noticed a change in how I felt almost immediately.   After that, whenever I did indulge in something that wasn’t as good for me, the reaction my body suffered was really obvious.

I’m starting to notice this again, even though so far I haven’t been especially ‘good’ on my Up Days.   Even just the break my body gets on Down Days is enough to make a difference, apparently.   So yesterday I went out and got myself some really decent food, including about a pound of quinoa.  There will probably be a transition period, as there tends to be, but I remember that being worth it.

Entry filed under: ADF. Tags: , , .

ADF Hardcore, Day 4: Om nom nom ADF Hardcore, Day 6: Oh Blessed Weekend!

3 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  June 25, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Isn’t it great how you notice these things when you start eating healthier? Last year I’d been having these awful stomach pains especially in the evening. I put it down to stress, from getting kicked out of a lab. So I was amazed they went away when I quit sugar. When I have a treat, sometimes I get the indigestion. Potatoes can cause it too, apparently they have a very high glycemic index.

  • 2. Feaelin  |  July 1, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Hmm. Maybe *I* have a high glycemic index, it’d explain, er, nevermind.

  • 3. Melalvai  |  July 2, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    !


Recent Posts

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

