ADF Hardcore, Day 7: Pickle Springs

June 27, 2010 at 4:02 pm 2 comments

Today was my first Sunday off of work in months.  My ‘department’ at work is comprised of myself and my supervisor, so when she’s off of work I am usually on.  Her ‘weekend’ each week is Sunday-Monday, so those two days (during the summer, at least, when the facility is open on Mondays) are constants for me.  However, due to either a scheduling mistake or just a moment of clemency on behalf of my supervisor, I was given today off.

Which was good, because it meant I could make good on a plan that could only be carried out on a Sunday, when the kids are with their Dad.   The plan was to hike, and the location selected was the Pickle Springs Natural Area in St. Genevieve, MO.   It’s not a very long hike, but the bedrock is sandstone and the formations there are awesome.   The roundabout takes about 1-2 hours, and includes sandstone cliffs, little waterfalls, natural bridges, fallen karst features, etc.   It was totally worth it.

It marked the first really good hiking I’d done in awhile, and the travel and whatnot kept me from eating much even given the fact that it was Sunday.  Moreover, my legs are still really strong when it comes to going uphill, but downhill they’re considerably weaker.  Hiking actual terrain is always good for that, and now my thighs just ache.  It’s a good kind of ache, though; it’s a ‘I accomplished something’ ache.  I sort of like that feeling now.

I should get back to walking every day, but now it really has become an issue of time.  That won’t be the case forever, though.  I’m gradually getting single motherhood sorted out and setting down systems for getting housework and shopping and everything done in and around work and time with my kids.  I think I will probably make walking my goal again for the next 21-day run.  By then I think I’ll be ready.  I hope so.

Entry filed under: ADF. Tags: , , , , .

ADF Hardcore, Day 6: Oh Blessed Weekend! ADF Hardcore, Day 8: One Week Down!

2 Comments

  • 1. Michelle  |  June 30, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    You know, if you increase the intensity to more than walking, you can get the same benefit in less time. Lots of my friends are working through a couch to 5k plan, maybe you should check that out.

  • 2. midwestchickadee  |  July 1, 2010 at 7:49 am

    I love Pickle Springs. I haven’t been there in a few years. I should make the time. That is a good workout trail.


Recent Posts

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

