ADF Hardcore, Day 10: Halfway There

June 30, 2010 at 7:12 pm 7 comments

First of all, serious props to Jake for getting below the 2xx mark. 🙂   It also seems that through him, we’ve set off another wave of ADF proselytes.  He has a friend who has decided to try it, and we have apparently inspired two people on a forum we both frequent to give it a try too.  Jake thinks I should write a book. 😉

In any case, I’m halfway done with my Hardcore run, and I am wondering if I need to call today a failure.  I didn’t eat anything, but I did meet up with my friend, Sarah, at my favorite coffee house to catch up.  Sarah and her husband are expatriate missionaries in Jakarta, Indonesia, and they happen to be home for a month or so right now to visit.  She, like Michelle, is one of those people in my life whom I value because we can go for long periods of time without talking and it doesn’t seem to make much difference.  Neither of us is offended by the break, and when we do get to talk, it’s like no time has passed.  I was really happy to meet with her today so we could catch up, as it’s probably been a year or more since we actually talked.

But meeting at a coffee house to do that catching up carries with it certain social mores, including, at the very least, ordering something overpriced and delicious to drink.  My usual fare in such cases is Chai.  It’s super-trendy, I realize, but let’s face it.. Chai rocks.  It’s a mug of milky, spicy joy, and if you can get it with vanilla thrown in for good measure, so much the better.  The coffee house I like best has a Hot Vanilla Chai that I have tried unsuccessfully to simulate at home, so I’m always eager to go and have the good stuff.

Tea in and of itself is not an issue.  Its caloric load is minimal, and if you get green tea the benefits far outweigh any dietary ‘cost’.  But the problem with tea is that in my case, at least, it begs for some kind of sweetener and I’m sort of averse to using the artificial stuff.  Even Splenda, for all its goodness, makes me a little wary.  I remember Olestra, I remember Saccharine scares.  Not that sugar in its store-bought form is a whole lot less processed than the artificial stuff, but …still.   And in the case of Chai, it’s worse… because Chai is usually served as a latte, which means lots of yummy, fatty milk.

So… the question became how to handle this.  I cannot drink black coffee, don’t care for unsweetened tea, and feel too guilty going in to take up space in a business establishment to order only water.  Plus, there’s the social factor…. Sarah had a latte and a big slice of cake ordered before I even got there, and if I sat there sipping on tepid water from their dispenser the whole time it would be convicting.  No.

In the end, I ordered a fat-free, sugar-free Chai.  I have no idea if this was a worthwhile compromise or not, but it didn’t taste near as good as the fatty, sugary stuff, so I’m giving myself a pass.   I haven’t eaten anything else today, at least, so I guess for all intents and purposes I did succeed.  And it was a good talk with Sarah, too, so…

I was actually kind of mean to myself last night without meaning to be.   Circumstances being what they are, I decided to make myself a preemptive ‘birthday cake’ last night in the form of a homemade Gooey Butter Cake.  A certain friend of mine (who will remain nameless for the moment) favors chocolate and was a bit dismissive of GBC once when we went to …as it happens..that same coffee house, which purports to serve it.   Making it last night was an effort not only to make myself my favorite cake ever, but also to prove to him that homemade GBCs are infinitely better than the store-bought variety.  I’m told I made my point, which is always satisfying, but in the process I created a painfully yummy cake that has sat in my kitchen all day, calling to me.   I’ve been good; I haven’t eaten a thing.  But man, do NOT get in my way tomorrow morning.

Speaking of which (last thing, I promise), my birthday is coming up on Monday.  Now, ordinarily I would say that fasting on one’s birthday is out.   But the question becomes what to do instead.  Do I just call it an impromptu Up Day and leave it at that?  That would mean four Up Days in a row, and I’m not sure I like that.  I could just swap Sunday and Monday, but I had planned to go out Saturday and Sunday in some fashion or other, so…   I can’t really go out Monday night, as I’ll have the kids, so I could just swap Monday with Tuesday, but that would mean fasting for two days in a row, and I don’t think even I am up for that.

Since I’m not going out Monday, I may just go ahead and fast on my birthday.  Or maybe I could compromise and make it kind of a ‘light’ day?  I don’t know.   Feel free to ring on on this, because I am seriously not sure what to do.

Entry filed under: ADF. Tags: , , , , , , .

ADF Hardcore, Day 9: The Accidental Vegetarian ADF Hardcore, Day 11: Early Morning Blues and Greens

7 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  June 30, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    I’ve started getting bottled juice at coffee shops lately. My reasoning for this is a bit different than yours, though, so I don’t know how helpful this advice would be. I’m looking to avoid the milk products, not calories. Most coffee places have just dairy or soy milks, and I’m trying to avoid both. Rather than getting black coffee (which I really don’t mind, actually) I’ve been opting for a bottle of juice instead, and it’s been working pretty well for me.

    As for Monday, I’d say wait until Monday and see how you feel that morning to decide for sure. But if you do decide to eat Monday, I’d say just shift the whole week. Up on Monday/Wednesday/Friday, down on Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday, then up again on Sunday and back to normal the next week.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  July 1, 2010 at 6:03 am

    That’s probably the best way to go about it. I apparently tend to think in Weekend units, so rippling the whole thing from one weekend to the next seemed somewhow extreme… but that makes the most sense.

  • 3. midwestchickadee  |  July 1, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Chai and honey is nommy.

    I’d say compromise on Monday. Maybe eat ONE thing, something special, something that will make you smile..

  • 4. Feaelin  |  July 1, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Hee. Coffee shops are my bane. I cannot stand even the smell of coffee (literally ill to the stomach from the smell sometimes). I end up ordering some kind of juice thing, or a Jones, or hot chocolate (although I’ve had really bad hot chocolate at coffee shops lately, so I may not do that anymore)

    Combine that with weird random (usually snackish non-meal!) food I mostly have no interest in…

    But the WiFi…it is my friend. 🙂

  • 5. Melalvai  |  July 2, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    I have no problem moving birthdays around. This year we celebrated my birthday a week early, since it fell on Moving Day. You can move your birthday to Tuesday and celebrate with Nell this year!

  • 6. Jennifer  |  July 3, 2010 at 6:17 am

    Isn’t Nell’s birthday on Thursday?

  • 7. Melalvai  |  July 4, 2010 at 7:16 am

    For some reason I was thinking you & she were one day apart, but it’s 3 days. Yeah, her birthday is Thursday.


Recent Posts

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

