ADF Hardcore, Day 11: Early Morning Blues and Greens

July 1, 2010 at 6:17 am 2 comments

Early post today.   I think one thing that continues to surprise me about ADF, even done this ‘hardcore’ way, is that despite expectations, I don’t wake up and bolt for the kitchen.   This morning I had been up for over an hour before I even bothered to eat anything, even though I do have Gooey Butter Cake and Snickerdoodles here, quietly murmuring that cookies and cake aren’t really THAT different from normal breakfast fare.  😉

Instead, I got up and did yard work from 5:45 to 7:00.  Now that we’re divorced, Andy and I are sort of kicking around how to handle the lawn care.   That sort of thing was always his exclusive domain before, and now the whole thing technically falls to me.   We’re amicable enough that last week he was nice and came over to mow and take care of some weed-whacking, which I appreciated… but twice now I’ve just mowed the lawn myself.

The lawn is in terrible shape.  In the five years we’ve been here, Andy really hasn’t taken any initiative at all in terms of killing weeds and promoting actual grass growth.   His idea of ‘taking care of the lawn’ comes down to mowing, weed-whacking and occasional watering.  Anything else, you see, costs extra money…and we can’t have that, so…

Well, not so with me.  I look over our crabgrass and clover strewn lawn and it bothers me.  I don’t need it to look like a golf course or anything, but it would be nice if we didn’t have huge patches of little white clover flowers everywhere and the stuff that looks like grass was at least the right shade of green.  I think Andy’s hesitation has stemmed from the fact that killing off the weeds means losing the better 2/3rds of the lawn, too.

But I need to sell my house here in the next year, and it would be really good, I think, to get it looking like it should.  So I’ve been tackling weeds with a vengeance lately.   Our flower beds were the first to be addressed, because the divorce stuff had put all of that on the back burner and they were becoming choked with foxtail grass and crabgrass.  I got them cleared out about a week ago and they look much better now.  Then I sprayed the driveway weeds last week and killed them off (I still feel guilty about that.  Something about that seemed so unsporting, somehow.)  Yesterday I went after the front lawn weeds with weed spray, and this morning I got out there and used a spreader to put down turf builder/weed control.  I don’t expect the latter to do much, since the weeds that plague my back yard are almost 100% crabgrass.  There’s only so much it can do… But if it kills off the clover, at least, I’ll call it good.

At any rate, that’s how I started my day today, so by the time I got in to eat I had already worked pretty hard.  This is when the phrase ‘working up an appetite’ becomes a reality. I wasn’t starving when I came in, but I was definitely ready for breakfast and satisfied that I had earned my right to it.   Now to earn my right to lunch by getting that stupid basement under control.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ADF Hardcore, Day 10: Halfway There ADF Hardcore, Day 12: Will of STEEL!

2 Comments

  • 1. midwestchickadee  |  July 1, 2010 at 7:55 am

    HUGS. Think of the exercise you did doing all that yard work. 🙂

    And more exercise cleaning the basement.

  • 2. Melalvai  |  July 5, 2010 at 8:39 am

    I bet the bunnies think the clover is beautiful!


Recent Posts

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

