ADF Hardcore, Day 14: Happy Independence Day!

July 4, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Have I ever mentioned that I have always loved the 4th of July?

Although, really, when you think about it that’s pretty natural.   Growing up, the 4th of July was the Harbinger of Birthday to Come for me, and back when I was little enough that my birthday was worth looking forward to, that was a seriously good thing. 😉  I remember how excited I was on the 4th when we’d pile in the car to drive to the riverfront for the Fireworks display.  As far as I was concerned, my birthday started right then and there.

I had a good day today, too.  Andy has the kids, so it was relatively quiet… but I worked today and it was a fairly easy workday.   It’s one of the days during the week that I’m more or less ‘in charge’ of Guest Services, because Jessica has Sundays off.   The Gift Shop was kind enough to have stocked my favorite variant of the vegan cookies they sell: Oatmeal Walnut Raisin.  I treated myself to one for lunch.

Those cookies are kind of scary, though.  They’re not small, granted… they’re probably seven inches or so in diameter.  But the nutrition information on the back says that each cookie is TWO servings, and each serving is 240 calories and 9 grams of fat.  That means that just one cookie is almost a QUARTER of an average person’s recommended caloric intake on a given day.  And this is a vegan cookie, remember; no eggs, no butter.  What did they put in those things to make them so high-calorie?

I really don’t know; I’ve read through the ingredients list and it’s still a mystery to me.  Admittedly, the walnuts are probably a big part of it, but still.  It’s one of those times that my apparent attraction to texture works for me, though, because as these cookies go my particular flavor is the least offensive in that quarter.  It has the fewest calories and the most fiber.  The Orange Cranberry version is incredibly yummy too, but much worse for you. 😉

Entry filed under: ADF. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

ADF Hardcore, Day 13: Cornucopia ADF Hardcore Day 15: Happy Birthday To Me


Recent Posts

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

