ADF Hardcore, Day 16: Houston, We Have a Problem…

July 6, 2010 at 11:02 pm 2 comments

Well, depending on how you look at it, I may have to call today a failure. 

From the word ‘go’ here, social situations have been a major source of concerns for me.  If you actually look back on that very first post I made about ADF back in November of 2008, I go into great and exhaustive detail about how frustrating it was for us to be at social occasions with my mother and have to watch her divide herself from the rest of us because she ‘wasn’t eating that day’.  I made it a personal policy that whatever diet I chose would be structured so that it would have as limited an impact on social stuff as possible. 

Well, here’s a pretty problem.  I did work yesterday, but because we’re a tourist attraction, Monday is basically a ‘weekend’ dayand the staff is light.  As per tradition, my at-work birthday celebration was put off until today, since that way most everyone would be present for it.   To make matters worse, the cake my supervisor brought in was a huge New York Style Cheesecake.  

There’s no way I was going to tell my co-workers that I could not have a piece of my own cake because I was dieting.   That violates my Social Occasions policy in the worst possible way.  If it had been someone else’s birthday, that’d have been one thing, but since it was MINE… no.

So I had some cheesecake.  And suffered for it; J had M bring in some homemade raspberry and blackberry syrup to pour over the cheesecake, and as Guest of Honor I was offered the job of first dibs.  I selected the blackberry syrup, which was presented to me in a cruet with a cork stopper.  I pulled the cork, it popped free, escaped my fingers and landed syrup-side-down, smack in the middle of my chest.   I was wearing a blue shirt, as per my uniform, so I looked like someone had stabbed me and I’d bled purple.  It was nice. 😉

Fortunately, J had brought in some older shirts she’d had in her closet, which she’d offered to me earlier in the day.  I was able to change into one of those, which saved me considerable embarrassment. 😉

But anyway… that was bad enough, but having blown the day with that, I didn’t then ‘be good’ for the rest of the day.  I called it a wash and had dinner with the kids.  I am not proud of this, but the question of whether to call it a failure is still up for grabs.  Jake, whose opinion counts mainly because he, too, is doing ADF Hardcore, and so if HE doesn’t see anything wrong with it, then I guess I’m more willing to forgive myself, says ‘You’re supposed to SKIP your birthday anyway.  I say you’re fine.”

So okay… we’ll let it go.  I’ll fast tomorrow, which will put me back on track, and we should be good from there.  Meh.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes. Tags: , , , , , , .

ADF Hardcore Day 15: Happy Birthday To Me ADF Hardcore, Day 17: Back on Track

2 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  July 12, 2010 at 10:19 am

    May spilling sticky gooey purple syrup on your shirt be the worst to befall you today. –Zen Melalvai

  • 2. Feaelin  |  July 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Birthdays are special exceptions to all sorts of rules!


Recent Posts

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

