ADF-EDD, Day 2: Dum de dum de dum…

July 13, 2010 at 5:38 am 1 comment

The pitfall with this EDD thing is that the temptation exists to shrug off walking on my Up Days, because ostensibly there’s nothing to ‘earn’.  I was good, though;  I woke up a little later than I wanted to, but I still got about 30 minutes in.  Better than nothing.

I also attacked my garage last night.  Since the divorce, there are two areas of my house that pain me greatly to lay mine eyes upon, and those are my garage and my basement.  The basement’s situation has little to do with the divorce, though; it’s just a mess because the kids have too many toys and are very bad about putting them away.  Lucas, in particular, seems to feel the best arrangement for toys is ‘spread in a layer that consumes whatever available lateral space exists in the immediate vicinity’.   I have long wanted to get down there and really dig in to make it better, but between motherhood, work, housework,  yard work, and just plain needing to sleep occasionally, I haven’t gotten to it yet.

The garage is suffering from the divorce, as it became a sort of unwitting staging area for organizing and packing up things Andy wanted to take with him when he left… But it’d be inappropriate to suggest that it looked just fabulous to start with either.  It also suffered a casualty on the 4th of July when a shelf Andy had erected to store his power tools (read:heavy things) fell.  This was my fault at least in PART, as I was attempting to climb up onto a table below it when it gave way… but at that moment, I hadn’t gotten far enough to actually put any weight on the shelf itself, so I don’t know.  When it fell, I was still on the ground and able to jump back to avoid getting hit with falling circular saws and routing tables.

Suffice it to say, though: both areas need some serious work and attention.

So last night, I tackled the Garage.  And I’m proud to say I got through a LOT of it before I was done.   Better than half, at least, and the stuff I got through was really the hardest part.  My van now fits nicely in its bay with happy open space on either side, with no passenger needing to trip over anything on the way into the house.  Kaloo, Kalay, as Nell says. 🙂

The process involved a lot of sweeping and moving stuff around, so I’m counting it as physically taxing enough that I refuse to feel bad about only walking 30 minutes today.  I have friends coming over tonight, so I won’t have time to walk this evening, so I need to justify it to myself somehow. 😉

Entry filed under: ADF, Exercise. Tags: , , , , , , , .

ADF-EDD, Day 1: Not a bad start ADF-EDD, Day 3: Being Good!

1 Comment

  • 1. Feaelin  |  July 15, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Do they have lots of small toys? We found the tidiness went way up with lots of those shoe-box sized plastic boxes with lids and actual shoeboxes when we had that difficulty. Heck, that helps me organize MY toys (usb cables, power cables, network cables…). 🙂


Recent Posts

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

