ADF, Day 2: Soup Glutton!

December 15, 2010 at 5:21 pm 2 comments

Ah, eating days.   I admit it: I took full advantage today.   But I will say that that’s part of the charm of this silly diet: the lack of guilt is amazing.   The sense that it’s okay to eat two slices of cranberry nut bread for breakfast because darn it, I EARNED it yesterday…   It’s a nice feeling.

I still wasn’t a complete glutton.  I even walked!  And I wound up spending most of the day out and about anyway.  I finished up some Christmas shopping during the morning and early afternoon, and came back to make lunch here at the house for myself and Fourthborn.  I didn’t even take us out to eat, which really tends to be where calories load up.  I brought us home, made a sandwich for him and had a cup of soup for myself.

Soup, by the way, is good stuff.  It’s the right time of year for it, and if you’re careful about the kinds you choose to eat, it amounts to pretty healthy stuff compared to a lot of other hot lunch type of things you could be eating.  Even the fattier soups tend to offer up more nutrition and fewer calories per serving than, say, a sandwich.   In fact, I was surprised to realize recently that at St. Louis Bread Company (which I refuse to call Panera), the Broccoli-Cheddar soup is actually less fatty than the Tomato soup.  I do understand that this is because when they say ‘Cream of Tomato’, they really do mean CREAM of Tomato, but still… I would have guessed Cheese, even diluted into soup form, would trump ‘cream’.  The calorie difference between the servings is nearly 100 calories.

Fortunately, I happen to love Broccoli Cheese soup, so this made me feel all warm and fuzzy about my choice there.

I do, of course, tend to stick with vegetable soups whenever I can.  Bean soups are good too.  In fact, I’d have to say that soup is probably my favorite way to eat beans.  I like Hummus as much as the next person these days, but unless it’s fairly freshly made, the hummus I find at the grocery store winds up not being that great for you once they’ve added everything they need to to keep the shelf life viable.

Admittedly, though, the store I shop at most is Aldi, so there’s probably much better choices out there than the ones I run into.

But let’s see..what was I talking about?  Oh yes, soup.  YAY soup!

One thing I should say about soup, though, is that soup that brags its contents are in any way ‘grilled’ is bad for me.  There have been some ‘hearty’ soup offerings that brag of ‘grilled chicken’ or ‘grilled steak’  (the latter of which I find tacitly absurd; if you’re going to the trouble to grill steak, why would you then put it into soup?).  I’ve tried them, they’re not that good and I wind up feeling sick afterward.

Soups I do love, though:

  • Corn Chowder
  • Broccoli Cheese
  • Cream of Tomato, Potato, Celery, Broccoli, Onion, etc.
  • Vegetable
  • Baked Potato
  • Split Pea with Bacon (Mmm, bacon!)
  • Mother Wolf Soup
  • Spanish Bean Soup
  • Italian Wedding Soup

I do like Chicken soup and its variants too, but that’s just so…you know…so done.  😉

Okay, off to wrap presents.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

ADF, Day 1 Again: Nothing to it but to do it. ADF, Day 3: Keeping Busy…

2 Comments

  • 1. Iain  |  December 16, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Okay…I’ll bite…what’s Mother Wolf Soup?

    Welcome to Day 2! Woohoo!

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 17, 2010 at 9:43 am

    It’s something C came up with from one of his vegetarian cookbooks. I have no idea what’s in it now, only that it was good and that it prompted many comments about where one acquires a mother wolf in order to make the soup.

    I suspect the soup is actually ‘Mother Wolfe’ soup, attributed to some matriarch with the last name of ‘Wolfe’ who created the recipe?


Recent Posts

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

