ADF, Day 3: Keeping Busy…

December 16, 2010 at 6:47 pm 3 comments

I feel like I should be a lot further along than ‘Day 3’, but that’s only because strictly speaking this should be ‘Day 5’.  All the same, this was my third day of fasting for this round, and it has, thus far, gone pretty well.  The kids were off of school due to an ice storm, so I empowered Firstborn and Secondborn to make breakfast and lunch, respectively, and I spent the day upstairs, cleaning and wrapping presents.

I did make dinner, though.  Worse, I made pizza.   I am still not a huge fan of Italian food as a rule, but pizza is an exception I’m usually willing to make.  I was good, though; I didn’t even nibble on discarded crusts, which I admit I’ve been known to do on occasion.  I told the kids to put whatever pieces they didn’t eat in the fridge for me, and I’ll eat them tomorrow.

That’s the part that’s easy to forget when you’re looking down the barrel of this diet.  Tomorrow is, quite simply, made of magic when you’re ADFing.  It’s not that you can’t have it, after all… you just have to wait until tomorrow.   Chad once told me about an alcoholic who ‘worked his program’ that way, actually.   Whenever he felt the urge to have a drink, he would tell himself that it was fine to drink it; he just had to wait until tomorrow.  Apparently this logic carried him through several years of sobriety successfully, because by the time tomorrow rolled around, the emotions that were driving his desire to drink had faded and he was in a strong enough state of mind that the desire to drink was easy to curb.  Interesting.

In my case, though, tomorrow really does come and I really CAN eat pizza for lunch if I want to.  So I will.  But I was good today, all the same. I ate 1/2 cup of cooked quinoa in vegetable broth for dinner, and that’s all I ate.  I’ve been good about drinking water and taking my vitamins, too.

AND…all of my Christmas presents are wrapped and under the tree.  🙂

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

ADF, Day 2: Soup Glutton! ADF, Day 4: WEEEEEEKENNNNND!

3 Comments

  • 1. Iain  |  December 16, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I might be vaguely confused. Is a fasting day 100% fasted? Or more of a “extreme low” day?

    Hacker’s likes to prime the “pump” with an extreme low day or two (which I didn’t do) to put the body in “burn fat for energy” mode.

  • 2. Melalvai  |  December 16, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love you, tomorrow, you’re always a day away! –Little Red Headed Orphan

    Managing yourself, that’s the trick. Some people call it self discipline. If I can just get through even a couple hours without giving into cravings, the cravings pass. Problem is, sometimes I don’t want to get through 2 hours, I don’t want the cravings to pass without me having given in. It’s that inner cranky toddler.

  • 3. Jennifer  |  December 17, 2010 at 9:45 am

    It’s a extreme low day. I try to keep my intake on Down Days to between 100 and 300 calories, and make those calories worthwhile (quinoa).

    Mel: I can definitely tell a difference between ‘real’ hunger and ‘toddler tantrum’ hunger. But I’m with you; sometimes I just don’t care which it is.


Recent Posts

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

