ADF Day 3: Remembering Again…

June 10, 2011 at 5:30 am 1 comment

Wow…

I had forgotten a lot, apparently.  Yesterday I got up, walked, and ate a bowl of cereal for breakfast.  By 10:00 a.m., the nutrition lull smacked me full-on and I was shaking too hard to write properly.  Such a quirky thing that the effects of not eating really don’t manifest for real until the day AFTER you fast, but there you go.  This is all just part of Hell Week, as I recall, so I’m not too worried.  I went out for lunch as planned and was fine after that.

Over the past year or so, I’ve backslid into some unfortunate habits.  Such is the nature of any addiction, I guess; the minute you let yourself engage in whatever behavior you tried to train yourself out of, it’s a fast slide right back into whatever you were doing before.  I can’t say I was as bad as I had been, since I was still walking and making a token effort to watch what I ate, but I was  back at letting myself eat for emotional reasons as opposed to hunger, back to snacking, back to all of it.  And even though I’ve been genuinely concerned about my weight and *tried* to control myself, I was fairly easily undone most times I tried.

The hardest part of day, I’ve discovered, is midday.  Actually, mid-MORNING.   That’s a common time for munchies to hit me, and at that point I haven’t invested much into the dieting effort yet.  Therefore, it’s unfortunately very easy for me to talk myself into deciding that that day isn’t going to work as a Diet Day and just trying again tomorrow instead.  Then I indulge and all bets are off for the rest of the day.

However, if I can push through that time of day, the noon/afternoon period is fine, and the  next bad time is when I get home from work.  If I’ve indulged already, I’ll eat too much and eat frantically, like I’m starving.  If I haven’t, there’s a sense that, “I made it this far.  I don’t want to blow it now.  Tomorrow’s just an evening and a sleep away!”, and I behave myself.

So… today, I will focus on NOT eating mid-morning/lunch.  This might be harder today than it was on Tuesday, unfortunately.  Earthways had some kind of event yesterday, and they have put all the leftovers in the STRC to be shared by the rest of us.  Yesterday I had a bowl of ice cream and some barbecue chips, so it’s not like I haven’t had a chance to have some, but with snacky/yummy food just sitting there, with a real, actual sign on them that says, ‘Please eat me!’, it’s going to be tough to behave myself.

I do have one more lesson plan to work on today, and I’d like to finish it before Sharon gets back.  I may just plan to spend 10:00-12:00 in the Garden, making notes for Food Chains.

If I recall correctly, the after-effects of a Down Day do lessen considerably after Hell Week, so hopefully I’ll just suffer on Saturday and be okay next week.  We’ll see.

Oh, I am up to 15 miles and counting right now.  I didn’t get to walk as long this morning as I normally do, but I got a mile and change in.  I’ll do the rest tonight.

Entry filed under: ADF. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

ADF Day 2: Eating Day ADF Day 4: 18 miles and counting…

1 Comment

  • 1. Pangie  |  June 13, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    It’s so easy to get into that thinking of “I already screwed up, to hell with trying for the rest of the day/week/month/whatever.” But it really is helpful to think, “Whoops, I messed up. Well, I will do better the rest of the day to make up for it!”


Recent Posts

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

