ADF Day 5: Coffee..

June 12, 2011 at 11:29 am 3 comments

This actually isn’t applicable today, so it’s kind of a dumb day to be thinking about it…

But I am anyway.  So let’s talk about it.

Coffee.

Coffee is a part of my life that is new since the last runs with ADF.   I started with social coffee drinking — lattes at Panera or Starbucks, Chai Tea, etc. — and now have progressed to drinking real, actual coffee at work.  Admittedly, I am not yet hardcore enough to drink it black, nor do I usually have more than one cup a day.   I do find I sometimes can tell when I haven’t ‘had my coffee yet’, and drinking a cup will inevitably allow me to focus better on whatever it is I’m trying to do.

Fortunately, this isn’t a daily occurrance and I usually go through entire weekends and occasional workdays without indulging at all.  I have never, to my knowledge, had a caffiene withdrawal headache, so I don’t think I’m too badly off yet.  But I do wonder about it in terms of my diet.

I remember from Weight Watchers that black coffee is ‘free’ — that is, it does not provide you with enough calories to really bother with as you’re counting up Points ™.  Adding cream and sugar obviously changes this, but even given the Coffee Wuss that I am, I don’t generally add so much of either that I ingest more than 50 calories or so per cup.

So it’s an okay thing to drink on my Down Days, right?  It provides a welcome flavor alternative to ice water (not that I’m abadoning my favorite drink, don’t worry) and is nicer to drink on cooler days…  The question is how it impacts my performance, really.

I’ve gone through one or two bad cases of the shakes this past week.  One happened on Wednesday, the first big Down Day I put myself through.  The next happened Thursday, ostensibly as the result of a nutrition lull.  Both days, I was drinking coffee, which led me to wonder something.  Does drinking caffienated beverages on an empty stomach have the same effect that drinking alcohol on an empty stomach tends to have?  That is: are the effects enhanced because there’s nothing in your system to act as any sort of buffer?

I only ask because I am still very much a big baby when it comes to caffiene.  My mother was diagnosed with Fibrocystic disease (not to be confused with Cystic Fibrosis, which is something else entirely) when I was in junior high, and she was told that caffiene was believed to be a contributing factor.  As a result, we were not allowed to drink cola, Mountain Dew, tea, or anything else that contained caffiene for the rest of my childhood.  I didn’t especially mind, as even at the time I pretty much preferred cold water to anything else, and since then my caffiene consumption has been comparatively low relative to my peers.  I still don’t care for soda (pop, whatever), don’t drink much tea and until recently, eschewed coffee. 

Which means I’m a little prone to caffiene shakes, even now.  It doesn’t happen a lot, but I did wonder if the shakes I had last week were related.   I haven’t had any since then, so it was probably just my body adjusting to the new world order, but I still wonder.

Entry filed under: ADF. Tags: , , , , .

ADF Day 4: 18 miles and counting… ADF Day 6: Paying the Hard Way

3 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  June 13, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    Caffeine is forbidden on my No Pain Diet. The information I have on it is:

    Caffeine increases levels of estrogen in the body. Coffee seems to be the biggest culprit, as it is a powerful phytoestrogen product. Drinking more than two cups of coffee daily may boost your estrogen levels and could worsen the symptoms of endometriosis, as well as problems with breast pain. Caffeine in coffee is linked to heart disease, and coffee drinkers suffer from 60% more heart attacks than people who do not drink it. Coffee also causes palpitations, raises blood pressure and cholesterol levels, increases stomach acid secretions, aggravate fibrocystic breast disease and increases the risk of miscarriages and birth defects. Its psychological effects include insomnia, anxiety, panic attacks and depression.

    Plus there’s the whole “Is it fair trade?” thing.

    Just some thoughts. 🙂

  • 2. Jennifer  |  June 16, 2011 at 5:32 am

    Well, we’re the Garden. We live and breathe ‘fair trade, sustainable, shade-grown’, etc.

    So drinking coffee will make me more girly? Whoah! 😉

  • 3. Pangie  |  June 16, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Ha! I like how that’s what you take from that paragraph of coffee doom. 😉


Recent Posts

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

