ADF Day 10: The trouble with Fridays…

June 17, 2011 at 5:18 am 1 comment

Well, only SOME Fridays…   This weekend the kids are with their Dad, and like a lot of divorced mothers these weekends presents some mixed feelings.  On one hand, the time alone is nice, gives me a chance to attend to chores and such without the chaos of four school-aged kids fumbling around in the middle of them or distracting me with requests for snacks and attention.  On the other hand, nothing makes you miss requests for snacks and attention like not having them anymore.  Given the choice, no matter how complicated life might be with four children, I would infinitely prefer to have them with me than not.

But nonetheless, here we are.   And it does give me some time to spend with Chris, which I obviously don’t mind.  But the trouble with Fridays — or these Fridays, anyway — is that they come after two weeks of heavy kid attendance and there’s sort of a sense of ‘it’s our time now, let’s do something fun’.  And ‘something fun’ usually involves food.

Tonight, we went out for Chinese.  I had been good all day, and I didn’t really blow it.  Chris is a vegetarian, and so when we go out for Chinese we usually split a vegetarian dish.   The sauce is probably not the best choice, and certainly the rice is calorie-heavy, but overall I doubt I ‘spent’ more than the six or so points I usually allot myself on Down Days.

Afterwards we went to one of our two favorite coffee houses.  I was good and forewent my usual Vanilla Chai Latte in favor of straight-up Chai tea.  So I was good.  We even walked some after that, so there was extra exercise too.

Entry filed under: ADF. Tags: , , , , .

ADF Day 9: Housing Situation Revisited ADF Day 11: Emotional Vegetarianism

1 Comment

  • 1. Pangie  |  June 21, 2011 at 5:39 am

    The title of this post has me picturing a mashup of Arthur Dent saying, “It must be Thursday. I never could get the hang of Thursdays,” and that terrible “Friday” song.


Recent Posts

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

