ADF Day 11: Emotional Vegetarianism

June 18, 2011 at 5:30 am 2 comments

Today was a really good day.  It’s nice to be able to report that. 🙂

Of course, it was an Up Day, so there was that.  I can’t say I was super good, but I wasn’t super bad either.  My neices came over for their weekly science lesson, which was about Seeds.  They’re homeschooled, but my sister hates teaching science.  While I cannot fathom this, it gives me an opportunity to trade services with her.  She watches L on Wednesdays when my Mom can’t, and I pay her back by handling the science curriculum for her daughters.

Anyway, the subject was seeds, and I usually try to serve them a theme-related snack at some point in the morning.  Today we had popcorn and mixed nuts.  The peanuts are great for talking about ‘seed embryos’, because you can just pop them apart and see the little proto leaves and radicle pretty clearly.

So I did snack some on mixed nuts.  And sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds.  And this brought to mind the fact that even vegetarian diets can be pretty calorie and fat heavy if you’re indulging in a lot of nuts and seeds. 😉  In fact, I was reading a few weeks ago about vegans who not only refuse to eat any animal products, they also refuse to eat any plant parts besides fruits and nuts.  The idea, I guess, is to do no harm to any living thing, so they only eat what the plant produces and discards on its own.  I want to know why seeds are okay to eat in that case, but eggs are not? Also, do they dine on deciduous leaves in the fall?  I’m not asking to be a smartass, I’m just genuinely curious.

Because really, when it comes to ’emotional vegetarianism’, that approach is the only one that makes much sense to me.  I don’t understand why someone who believes all animal life is sacred would be able to say that plant life is not.  At least this approach makes more sense in that regard; we’re only eating things that we can eat without causing injury or death to the plant.  I can get behind that.

Which isn’t to say I plan to DO it. 😉  I’m still too attached to bacon to go strictly vegetarian anyway, and too attached to eggs to go vegan, so…

Anyway, after that, I mowed the lawn (I am mean to plants all over, apparently) and then I met a relator I know to look at some houses in Manchester.  They are by far the most comfortable houses I’ve seen so far, but that’s probably because they are the most suburban houses I’ve seen so far.  They aren’t what I’d call interesting, but they are a good size and in safe, quiet neighborhoods.   They’re not as close to the Garden as I might like, but living there would cut my commute by half or more.  The rent is about $250/mo less than my mortgage, too.   I applied for both, so we’ll see.

 

Entry filed under: ADF. Tags: , , , , .

ADF Day 10: The trouble with Fridays… ADF Day 12: Father’s Day

2 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  June 21, 2011 at 5:59 am

    I believe the theory behind the fruitarians is that if it’s fallen from the plant, it’s meant to be eaten. Eggs haven’t “fallen” from the chickens, they are unhatched babies ripped from their mothers nests causing all sorts of emotional trauma. 😉

    Good luck on the housing situation!

  • 2. Jennifer  |  June 21, 2011 at 6:39 am

    Do we really know that Walnut trees don’t weep when we take their babies off the ground, though? 😉


Recent Posts

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

