ADF Day 14: Two Weeks Down…

January 16, 2013 at 7:22 am

And today the scale again confirmed 198.0.

And let me just say: that’s a zero-pound gain after an evening spent eating Chinese food and popsicles.  ADF is a good thing.

The kid situation is resolved; Mom said she would take them!  We’ll drive them out tomorrow night to spend the night with her, and then I’ll pick them up when I get out there for Bunco.  Woo, family!

Given the time of year, it’s natural that the press is abuzz with all the latest diet and exercise wisdom.  I ran across a report on ADF yesterday and, of course, immediately read it beginning to end.  It wasn’t a very indepth report; it was more of a critique on Dr. Johnson than anything.  In the end, the report was not very favorable.  The author, ostensibly a known name/face in the world of dieting and fitness, tried it for a week and deemed it interesting, but ultimately a losing game because she ‘felt awful’.

The usual objection was also raised that permitting someone to eat ‘whatever they like’ one day followed by a day of relative fasting ‘does not teach people to watch what they eat’.  While there are many objections to ADF with which I cannot argue, I think that charge (which is the most oft-leveled I’ve seen) is perhaps the most ludicrous. While yes, conveying the Up Days as Days of Allowed Gluttony does make this sound logical, for those who seriously put some effort into ADF, it rarely works out that way.  If anything, I feel like I give my food far more consideration this way than I did when I was trying to diet full-time.   Locking one’s brain against enjoying anything you eat for a time will eventually fail, but it does work short-term because it doesn’t require much analysis.  This way, I’m permitted to enjoy what I want to eat, but it’s not just unbridled hedonism.  I have to give it due consideration all the time.

Besides, while having a day in which eating is encouraged is nice, but now that I’m well past that first-week mark and seeing real success, the last thing I feel like doing on Up Days is gorge myself.

Admittedly, this could be a product of the way in which I go about it.  And I have obviously tried ADF in many, many other ways and not had success.  I would maintain, though, that during those periods I wasn’t really putting the effort in that would be required for success in ANY diet.   Once I locked into the mindset where this is what I want to do and I’m going to make it happen, I succeed.  I would probably succeed on Weight Watchers or Adkins or whatever, given that attitude, but ADF happens to be what I prefer.   The thing, then, is not to consider the style of diet the secret to success, but rather the determination of the subject who is dieting.

And lady, if you want to really understand the charm of ADF, you gotta do it for at least two weeks.  There’s a shift that happens after a week or so when your brain clues in that hunger does not necessarily have to equate to misery.  The prospect of hunger pangs is always exponentially worse than the reality.  Once you hit that, the Down Days are almost nice; you know what you’ll be eating, and there’s serious validation in feeling hungry and realizing that this means your body is about to start breaking into its energy reserves and using up some fat.

7 pounds down in two weeks.  LoseIt now says I’ll hit 160 in late May. 🙂  That’s still ‘overweight’ by conventional wisdom, but I’ll take a BMI of 27 over a BMI of 32.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

ADF Day 13: According to Scale… ADF Day 15: Work Tired…


Recent Posts

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

