ADF Day 15: Work Tired…

January 17, 2013 at 6:46 pm 2 comments

What a crazy day!  Good thing we’re gearing up for a sort-of four -day weekend!

I think I’m coming down with a cold.  It’s always a little hard to tell.  My body is one of those that doesn’t much like it when the weather changes dramatically over a short period of time.  One could reasonably argue that, given this, Missouri might well be the worst choice I could make in terms of living areas…  Over the last few weeks we’ve jackknifed between 50- and 60-degree days and 30- and 20- degree days.  While we all appreciate the arrival of those unusually clement days for the season and tip our hats to those brothers and sisters who live in more northern climes and must plug in their cars to keep them from freezing overnight..  All the same, I would take a stretch of 40-degree weather (or even 20-degree weather) if it would just stay the same for a period so I could acclimate and be done with it.

Anyway, tomorrow is the Education Department retreat, and it’s to be held at a local summer camp facility near us.  What makes this of particular interest to me is that this camp was my summer haunt for three of my college summers.  The first year I was a counselor — and experience that ended badly, just because I was so emotionally wrung out by the end of the summer — the next two years I was the Nature Instructor and loved it. The kids we kept back then were inner-city kids from impoverished, abusive or otherwise unfortunate circumstances, so it could certainly be emotionally taxing sometimes… But I did wind up finding my love of informal nature instruction out there, so it will be interesting to go back.

Today was just office day.  Write up this, work on that.  Blah blah blah.  However, it has hit me that in terms of ADF, today is kind of like this week’s Saturday.  Tomorrow I will eat and Saturday I will fast.  That should work out okay, I think.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ADF Day 14: Two Weeks Down… ADF Day 16: Camp, Revisited

2 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  January 23, 2013 at 6:14 am

    “those brothers and sisters who live in more northern climes and must plug in their cars to keep them from freezing overnight”

    Ha! You say that like you’d ever heard of it before meeting Mandee. 😉

    I remember her telling me about that conversation before I ever met you, even.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  January 23, 2013 at 6:18 am

    Well, that was a pretty shocking conversation for me. 😉 Holy cow, you PLUG IN YOUR CAR?! And it’s not an electric car, right? You just have outlets sitting around in parking lots so your car doesn’t freeze? Holy moly! 😉


Recent Posts

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,472 people are watching me!

