ADF Day 17: Bleah…

January 19, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Well, I seem to have given myself a cold for real now…

This was, I expect, my own fault.  I came home from Bunco last night feeling sniffly and starting to cough.  By this morning I felt icky, but still chalked it up to the overnight reaction to changing temperatures rather than thinking I was actually coming down with anything.  I did feel better later in the morning, though I was bad and slept in rather than walking.  I kept telling myself I would have the whole day for that, and why not sleep in?  I work hard, I’ve had a long past few weeks.  I’ve earned it, right?

Except it’s the end of the day now, and I still haven’t walked.  And now I feel genuinely sick, so it’s not likely I’m going to do it now.  I did have a productive day in some ways, though… I had three sets of curtains that have been waiting to be put up, and I tackled that project today.  I also took advantage of the warm weather and shooed the kids outside.  To make them stay there, I also shooed myself outside and spent the early afternoon planting bulbs.

Yes, I said it.  I forgot to plant my bulbs in the fall, and they’ve been sitting there in my office, little nuggets of flowery hope wasting away and giving me guilt pangs.  I don’t know if planting them now will do much good, but I do know that they typically need only about six weeks of cold to bloom successfully.  I might have gotten them into the ground in the nick of time.  Or it might have been a big waste, too…  I reasoned that if I keep them inside, they won’t bloom for SURE.  If I plant them, even in January, there’s a chance they might.

I did take a daring path and plant crocuses in my actual lawn.  The Garden does this by the Lehman Building, and every spring it’s neat to see the whole lawn, which otherwise looks like an expanse of ordinary grass, burst into a lawn of purple, white and yellow every Spring.  In fact, we actively wait for the announcement that the crocuses are up and all head out when it comes in to see them.  I decided to try it in my own lawn this year and see what happens.

At any rate, I might have gotten over-ambitious.  The temps were in the 50s, but the ground itself was frozen only an inch or so below the surface.  I was still able to get down far enough to plant the bulbs, but there was little Ic ould do to break up the soil that went back over them.  I had to settle for breaking it into clayey chunks and hoping for the best.  It was cold, backbreaking work, and my back is already not thanking me for it.

By evening, I couldn’t get warm.  I don’t have a fever, but my voice is going and I feel chilled to the bone even when I’m in bed and under blankets.  I wrote to friends with whom I have plans tomorrow to tell them I may have to decline.  Hope I don’t, but we’ll see.

Entry filed under: ADF, Exercise. Tags: , , .

ADF Day 16: Camp, Revisited ADF Day 18: Lazy Sunday


Recent Posts

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

